WASHINGTON, D.C. – U.S. Representative Tony Gonzales (TX-23) led 48 of his House Republican colleagues in writing a letter to U.S. Department of Homeland Security Secretary Alejandro Mayorkas expressing concern over the December 21st, 2022 discontinuation of Title 42.

The Members said in part, “Under Title 42, migrants were expelled at rates 40 percent or higher for nearly every month in FY22, which considerably alleviated congestion along our borders. As this policy approaches its deadline next week, it is no surprise that illegal crossings are skyrocketing.

The Members continued, “Your agency has systematically dismantled successful border security measures such as the Remain in Mexico policy, and severely restricted the ability of Immigration and Customs Enforcement (ICE) to deport illegal immigrants. In the absence of these enforcement tools, Title 42 has served as the last effective deterrent against illegal border crossings. Without it, federal, state, and local law enforcement will be stretched beyond their limits, and threats to our national security will inevitably multiply.”

Co-signers of the letter include Representatives Dan Newhouse (WA-4), Scott Franklin (FL-15), Mike Kelly (PA-16), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Michelle Steel (CA-48), Burgess Owens (UT-04), Dan Crenshaw (TX-02), Vern Buchanan (FL-16), David Valadao (CA-21), Byron Donalds (FL-19), Mayra Flores (TX-34), Brian Babin (TX-36), Brad Wenstrup (OH-02), Andrew Garbarino (NY-02), Tracey Mann (KS-01), Blake Moore (UT-01), Mariannette Miller-Meeks (IA-02), Carlos A. Giménez (FL-26), Randy Weber (TX-14), Young Kim (CA-39), August Pfluger (TX-11), Gus Bilirakis (FL-12), Glenn Grothman (WI-06), Matt Rosendale (MT), John Rutherford (FL-04), Stephanie Bice (OK-05), Randy Feenstra (IA-04), Victoria Spartz (IN-05), Diana Harshbarger (TN-01), Yvette Herrell (NM-02), Mary Miller (IL-15), Michael Burgess (TX-26), Ronny Jackson (TX-13),  Michael Guest (MS-03), Claudia Tenney (NY-22), Ashley Hinson (IA-01), Dan Bishop (NC-09), Jerry Carl (AL-01), Mike Garcia (CA-25), Van Taylor (TX-03), Mike Waltz (FL-06), Dusty Johnson (SD-AL), Larry Bucshon (ID-08), Darrell Issa (CA-50), John Moolenaar (MI-04), and Brett Guthrie (KY-02).

 The full letter is available here.